Road tripping…

This week I’ve been getting in touch with my inner cowgirl.

Yee-haaaaaaaaaa, giddy-up guys, I’m taking you on a tour of country Queensland!

Buckle your seat belts for the first stop…Dysart.

Where the hell is that? It’s a 250km drive from Mackay…

map-mackay

Which means about three hours of this…

gsss

and this…

ashs

and some of this…

asgssa

In temps like this (air conditioning is up there with one of the best inventions)…

as

With my amazing singing to keep me company – featuring a repeat of our national anthem, a few Christmas carols and a range of Mary Poppins tunes – the time flew!

It was Tuesday arvo when we (my colleague Daniel & I) pulled into town, dropped our bags at the motel and hit the streets for a tour.

Come with me kids and meet…the local pony club peeps.

agha

AFL ground.

asgsa

Netball courts.

dasg

Boxing club.

kkk

Junior rugby league paddock.

sagasg

Soccer grounds.

sadsg

And my favourite pitstop…

eee

I LOVE VERN!!!!

sdsd

My Wednesday morning visit was worth every cent of the five dollars I handed over (yep, $5…for a small).

sddd

So, that’s Dysart for you. A central Queensland town, located in the Isaac Region where mining rules and rugby league’s a religion.

I’d dropped in to lead a QLD Government social media workshop, hopefully leaving the locals with a few tips to assist their clubs, associations and businesses.

On Wednesday morning, Daniel and I packed our bags and waved goodbye to Dysart for the second and final stop on our social media road trip.

sddddd

An hour and a half of dust, and sadly none of the promised sightings of cowboys, later we arrived at our destination.

Hello Clermont!

df

Home to everything agriculture, mines, floods and the mighty Bears!

4584709744_351x260

And…high-vis (even for your teddy-bear)!

sdf

No Aussie town’s true-blue without a pub…

asfha

Or some great artwork…

fgf

g

The locals here are lovely and super keen to soak up social media info so the workshop was a blast. I’ll be stalking them on Facebook to see if they were listening ;)

And now here I am, back in Mackay and about to board my plane for Brisbane.

photo

I’ve got to fly (pardon the pun). Thanks for having me guys!

Happy sharing!
xo

Leave a Reply

